"Rizzoli/Isles" series

Sunday, January 10, 2010

Yup, I’m talking about Tess Gerritsen’s awesome line of crime/mystery/thriller. There are seven books in the series centering on different crimes and mysteries and the two female characters. Jane Rizzoli, a strong woman of a detective; Maura Isles, the medical examiner. Together, they help each other figure out the crime; what took place, who did it, and why, while at the same time living their lives as women in this society, in two very difficult professions.

Let me write just a short description of each book and maybe add an opinion or two.

  • The Surgeon – This is the first in the series. And let’s just say that if it wasn’t for this book, I wouldn’t have immediately put on reserve ALL of the remaining books in the library that have been written by her. Creepy, eerie, gory, scary, exciting, unmistakably suspenseful and mysterious. Tess Gerritsen’s very vivid imagination and descriptions lure you into her traps, make YOU imagine hearing every blood-curling scream and every anguish. Tsk. Tsk. I’m getting carried away. Awesome book!
  • The Apprentice – 8/10
  • The Sinner – 8/10
  • Body Double – this is one of my favorites in the whole series. It was crazy! Read it!
  • Vanish – 9/10
  • The Mephisto Club – 8/10
  • The Keepsake – 10/10

What’s really cool is that you don’t really have to start from the very first book in the series. You can start anywhere you’d like and you’ll still get the same spine-chilling feeling, leaving you wanting to read the rest of her books!

That’s it. Aside from the fact that Tess Gerritsen just has the coolest job in the world being both a physician and a writer, her writing and style can not-should not-be missed.

No comments:

Post a Comment